Nice to know
http://www.mattcutts.com/blog/
>Heck, my registrar is French (Gandi.net).<
I've wondered in the past who he might use. I guess now the question would be why.
- Y! MyWeb
http://www.mattcutts.com/blog/
>Heck, my registrar is French (Gandi.net).<
I've wondered in the past who he might use. I guess now the question would be why.
A certain caché, perhaps?
After all, MC is a pretty sexy guy. ;-)
You ask Why?
Once upon a time, Gandi was known in geek circles as a cheap registrar that provided good service and, the crowning touch, specified in the terms that you owned the domain name, not them.
In particular, there was a registrar-review site, whose URL escapes me, but it was since rebranded as a porn site anyway, that reviewed the majority of registrars and gave Gandi top ranking.
Perhaps Matt has been around long enough to remember it?
I still have domains with Gandi :)
But the registrar name is right there in the whois - you only had to look it up.
Matt said
he did it for world peace
Ok...
...that fixes that then. World peace is nigh.
Next step: stop famine.
bacon polenta....
bacon polenta....
Just Matt trying to be funny.
He did it to take a poke at comment spammers. Gandi is known in some circles as being a spam friendly registrar.
Definitely world peace. Plus
Definitely world peace. Plus at one point a few years ago, Euros were low enough compared to the dollar that it seemed cheaper to to register it there. You gotta remember, Googlers are frugal. :)
Not froogle?
And here I thought they were Froogle!
Matt Spoke.....
"It's time for F and G to heal their disagreements."
Well how about thee and me healing our disagreements. I'm beginning to think that re-inclusion requests are PR smoke and mirrors destined for filing WPB. Is there anybody actually there?